Horst elected president of Clarkston School Board


Clarkston News Staff Writer

Kelli Horst is the new Clarkston Community Schools Board of Education president.
Horst was unanimously elected to her new position, moving from vice president, at the July 8 board meeting.
β€œI feel very lucky to take this over, following three tremendous presidents who sit at this table,” said Horst. β€œTo Mrs. (Cheryl) McGinnis, Mr. (Steve) Hyer and Mrs. (Elizabeth) Egan, thank you so much for leading us in years past, always keeping the focus where it belongs, on our students, on our employees, and on our community. I promise to follow that. I also promise to be efficient.”
Also at the meeting, Greg Need was voted vice president after serving as treasurer, while McGinnis went from trustee to treasurer. Egan, the president for the 2018-19 school year, is now a trustee.
Andrea Catalina and Stefanie Crane remain trustees and Hyer is again secretary.