Percival, Catallo out in city election, incumbents Wylie, Detkowski returned

Clarkston voters selected a new mayor, and returned two incumbents to City Council in Tuesday’s election.
Eric Haven, who resigned his seat on City Council this past July to run for mayor, won the top seat with 272 votes, 52.31 percent of the 520 total.
Steve Percival, running for his second two-year term as mayor, fell short with 246 votes, 47.31 votes.
Voters returned to City Council for two-year terms incumbents Sue Wylie and Rick Detkowski, who ran together on a platform of continuing positive change in Clarkston by improving transparency and communication, bridging the gaps between people, and increasing productivity, and also voted in former City Council member Al Avery.
Wylie was the top vote getter, with 325 votes, 25.29 percent of the 1,285 total. Detkowski received 309 votes, 24.39 percent; and Avery, 262 votes, 20.39 percent.
Sharron Catallo, who served for more than 20 years as mayor and council member for the city and village before that, fell short of reelection, with 245 votes, 19.07 percent. Challenger Hampton Swayne received 138 votes, 10.47 percent.
Elected for a one-year term on City Council, to replace Haven, was former City Council member David Marsh, earning 279 votes, 58.74 percent of a total of 475. Challenger Michael E. Cascone received 193 votes, 40.63 percent.
“The Independence Township Road Infrastructure Improvement Millage was narrowly approved, with 9,313 “yes” votes, 51.14 percent of the 18,211 votes. There were 8,898 votes against, 48.86 percent.
The proposal levies a new millage of up to two mills for four years, collecting $3.2 million to fix 28 miles on 11 roads in the township. The township will partner with the Road Commission for Oakland County to perform annual maintenance, and RCOC is contributing construction and design engineering, which is estimated to be about $4.5 million.
The proposal includes parts of Sashabaw, Clintonville, Waldon, Maybee, Clarkston, White Lake, Andersonville, Holcomb, Flemings Lake, Walters, and Eston roads. It would collect $2 per $1,000 of taxable value on all taxable property in the township, an estimated $3,167,648 in the first year. Based on the average home value and the average taxable value, it would increase the average homeowner taxes by $223.
Voters renewed the Springfield Township Police Millage by nearly two-to-one, with 4,948 voted in favor, 68.2 percent of the 7,255 total. There were 2,307 “no” votes, 31.8 percent.
The eight-year millage renewal will raise about $971,000 exclusively for police services, about half of the revenue needed for the township’s police contract with the Oakland County Sheriff’s Office.
In 2017, deputies responded to 7,178 calls, and perform house checks, patrols of schools and private businesses, building checks, alarms, welfare checks, burglar alarms residential and business, animal complaints, accidents, and drunk driving arrests.
Cost per resident in 2017 for police services averaged $119 for the year.
Elissa Slotkin, Democrat, who kicked off her campaign for the Michigan House of Representatives District 8 in Clarkston last February, won the seat with 172,878 votes, 50.61 percent of the 341,610 total.
Incumbent Republican Mike Bishop received 159,804 votes, 46.78 percent. Libertarian Brian Ellison received 6,302 votes, 1.84 percent; and US Taxpayers party candidate David Lillis got 2,626 votes, 0.77 percent.