Register to vote in primary

Deadline to mail in voter registrations is Feb. 24, 15 days before the March 10 election. You can also register in person any time up through election day at your city or township clerk office with residency verification.
Requests to have an absent voter ballot mailed to you must be received by your clerk no later than 5 p.m. on March 6, the Friday before the election. If already registered at your current address, you can request an absent voter ballot in person at your clerk’s office anytime up to 4 p.m. on the day prior to the election. If registering to vote or updating your address by appearing at your clerk’s office on election day, you can request an absent voter ballot at the same time you register. If you request your absentee ballot the day before the election or on election day, you must vote the ballot in the clerk’s office, according to the Secretary of State.
With the passage of Proposal 3 in 2018, voters no longer need a reason to vote absentee. Absentee ballots were previously mailed in manila envelopes, but are now white. Voters are asked to use caution when sorting mail to not miss it, said Oakland County Clerk Lisa Brown.
If you have previously requested an absentee ballot, but choose to vote at the polling precinct, bring your absentee ballot with you.
Clarkston area voters will decide on renewal of a 10-year 0.2 mill Oakland County Art Institute Authority Millage to provide revenue to the Detroit Institute of Arts (DIA), $13,600,000 in 2022, for programs including free K-12 school field trips, free senior group programming, and unlimited free general admission; and Clarkston Community Schools’ Operating Millage Proposal to levy up to 8 mills on non-homestead property for operating purposes.
Voters can also cast their ballots in Michigan’s Presidential Primary. Candidates on the ballot, which will include those who dropped out, include Republicans Donald J. Trump for re-election, Mark Sanford, Joe Walsh, and Bill Weld; and Democrats Michael Bennet, Joe Biden, Michael R. Bloomberg, Cory Booker, Pete Buttigieg, Julián Castro, John Delaney, Tulsi Gabbard, Amy Klobuchar, Bernie Sanders, Joe Sestak, Tom Steyer, Elizabeth Warren, Marianne Williamson, and Andrew Yang.
Polls will be open from 7a.m.-8 p.m. on March 10.
“I also want to assure voters that our voting equipment is secure and federally certified. It never touches the internet and has many security features to ensure that every ballot is counted,” Brown said.
For more info, go to

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.