Nail-biting championship baseball finish against Lake Orion

The Independence Township Parks, Recreation and Seniors Boys 15- to 18-year-old baseball team won the championship last week against Lake Orion.
The team, sponsored by Edward Jones, had a great year finishing with a record of 11-1.

The Independence Township Parks, Recreation and Seniors Boys 15- to 18-year-old baseball team end a great summer season. Photo provided by Dave Murphy

The boys beat another Independence Township team in the semifinals 20-1. They ended up playing the Lake Orion team for the championship which was the team who gave Clarkston its only loss for the year but Clarkston also beat them two times during the regular season.
During the championship game, the score went back and forth every inning and was always close.
In the sixth inning Clarkston was down by one. With two outs and two players on base, Andrew Herrmann ripped a long ball almost to the fence. The team thought it was the game winning hit, but Lake Orion made an incredible catch at the fence to end the inning.
The seventh inning started and Clarkston held Lake Orion again going into their last at bats. The boys needed one for a tie and two to win.
“They were pumped up and knew what they had to do,” said Coach Dave Murphy.
They then went on a hitting spree and scored a run to tie and still left two men on base. Cameron Smythe came up to bat and hit a shot to center field to score the walk off winning runs.
The whole team cheered and rushed on the field to celebrate along with a huge fan base of parents screaming.
“The key to winning this year was the boys having fun, being positive, 100 percent effort, and respecting the game,” said Murphy. “Also, everybody pulled their weight. We had no weak links. They all contributed every game. All the boys could hit and it helps to have great pitching provided by Jaden Pietras and Alec Brisse.”
He added many of the boys have played together since they were very young and most of the team will be returning next year.
“We are already counting the days until next year,” Murphy said.
The team includes Erik Anderson, Alec Brisse, AJ Fiori, Andrew Herrmann, Aksel Hopkins, Anthony Lange, Mason McClelland, Andy Murphy, Pierce Peruski, Jaden Pietras, Travis Puffer, and Cameron Smythe with Coach Dave Murphy and Assistant Coach Mike Herrmann.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.